Meetup 003 : Character Motivation

Alright there, people! Three’s the charm, this week. Lots of good stuff happening around. Lots to do, lots to share, lots to write.

This week was a wonderful, wonderful meetup! The trees, the cloudy sky, the rocks, the open air, the merciful sun and even the irritating flies played and sang along to our inspiration. Among all the factors that drove us to the utopia of words, lets give it up for our host this week, Shazia Ahmad, people! The ever-bubbly, smooth talker nailed the meetup with a consequential yet effective topic.

“Character Motivation”

A story is bound to flat if the motivation isn’t driving the plot forward. What are believable motivations? How do writers weave in a character’s motivation into the story?

So we had a quite informative discourse on the topic by the hostess herself, which started off with the seven possible character motivations in fiction, as defined by bestselling author Dean Koontz. Read more on the material attached.

Please find the material here: Character Motivation

Exercise:

Write a motivation for the character in your piece, using any of the following prompts:

  1. This is the worst thing I ever lost.
  2. The one thing I’ve never told anyone is:
  3. This is what an ordinary day looks like for me.
  4. This was the moment when everything changed.
  5. ________ was always wrong about me

Needless to say, the nature’s cues and the prompts stimulated our creativity to create exemplary works!

IMG_20150425_181324 IMG_20150425_181340

P.S: Excuse me for the bad photography, I was having a bad-phone day 😛

Santosh Mohan’s dark story on the evil, narcissistic doctor, Vinay’s imaginative poem on the Oscar-winning Indian actor, Abraham’s piece on the unprovable orphan who turned revengeful, Arunlekha’s ever-pleasing piece on the next chronicle in Siya and Ratnakar’s lives, Ashok’s piece on a life-changing phone call, “60 seconds” by Vikas, “The dual” by Krishanth, Vivek’s journal on the angst of being nice always and Karthik’s romantic rendition of a day-dream, took us into the fictional world they built.

And since Shazia was a sweet darling, to have hosted and allowed me to write this weekend, I wrote a little something too (refer to comments). Please feel free to share your works on the comments section.

About Write Club Team

Write Club Team comprises of highly motivated writers and creative inhabitants, who aspire to make Hyderabad an empowering abode for fabulous writers.

3 thoughts on “Meetup 003 : Character Motivation

  1. Prompt: The one thing I’ve never told anyone is:

    10 days into homecoming and Kanishk had already lost half of the refute. He knew precisely what it meant to return home, this time. Despite the numerous debates, the stage had already been set up for the big affair. His marriage.

    “Kanishk, what will we answer them?”, his mother put up her dispute from across the kitchen to the hall, “This is the 5th girl you’ve rejected without a reason in two weeks.”

    “People are going to start speculating things, son” his father expressed his concern.

    Kanishk vehemently got up in a fit of rage and repeated his opinion, “I don’t want to get married”. Slamming the door to loud bang, he stood there clenching his fists at the helplessness.
    Why does everything have to drive him right to that one maroon point. The one thing he’d never told anyone. The one perplexity that he held on to, for 26 years. A flash of memories played on his vision.

    It was 1983. A 19-year old Kanishk, was bullied and taunted by his classmates for being the only single one in the class. It was daunting to know that someone as handsome, clever and sensible as him would have been without the luck of love in his life, in spite of being the most eligible bachelor of the class. Kanishk ignored the sweet gestures, the anonymous letters he’d received, for he had only one person in his mind. Sarthak, the bespectacled teacher’s pet on the first bench. He had been the love of his love. Still is. There were enough moments for him to confess his love, but the fear kept him grounded. Who could he confess to? His parents? Their conservative ideologies would button him down and butcher his morale, for the heinous admission. Sarthak? What if he judges, what if he mocks, what if he abandoned him? No! That’s too much damage!

    Self-pity, the most atrocious thing to happen to a person. Overwhelmed by the gush of emotions, he sobbed uncontrollably into his palms and broke down on the floor.

    Like

  2. Narcissism was the one thing that was always wrong about me. But off course, I never knew or acknowledged it – atleast not until this court case. Let me start from the very beginning. As a child, I was raised by my mother. My parents had separated while I was just 6. My father was the stereotypical gult bum – eternally drunk and never worked a day in his life. My mother couldn’t take it anymore and one day decided to walk out of this relationship. Even though she brought me up single handedly it wasn’t with its own pitfalls. My mother worked round the clock, was always tired and hence easily irritable. Any childish request or pranks on my part would only incur her wrath. She was a disciplinarian and a tough taskmaster. Anything below the top rank and she would fly off the handle. But I never let her down – always topped every exam that I ever gave, mastered every game that I ever played. Kids from my school used to jokingly call me the superboy. Boy – wish they knew that I truly was. I was good at every thing and was fairly charming too. Girls loved me right from my school days. This didn’t change when I got into medical college.
    Thats where I met Sumathi, whom I would go onto marry after 7 years of courtship. She was polar opposite to my personality – laid-back, not ambitious, not too active and definitely never the centre of attraction of any group. Maybe thats what attracted me to her. I think, she was head over heels in love with me – after all I was the trophy husband any girl would love to have – a charming, ambitious doctor. What else would any girl need!
    Fast forward 14 years. Me and Sumathi have been married for 7 years now and have 2 lovely daughters, Neha and Nikita. Sumathis career as doctor never really took off as she had Neha within the first year of our marriage and Nikita soon followed in couple of years. Being a mother was a full-time job in itself and she never got time to get back to medicine. Just when she thought that kids had grown up enough for her to get back into medicine, boom the news came as a bolt. She was pregnant with a boy (I know its illegal to find out the gender, but hey I am a doctor and I have friends who are doctors. It isn’t really tough for me to get this info). Sumathi is not to happy about having this child, but then it serves her right. It was her fault. She is the one who forgot to pop the pill.
    On that fateful night, I was sleep deprived having worked 48 hours in a row on various emergency cases – couple of which I goofed up and resulted in 2 deaths. I was buzzing with caffeine and the anti-allergy tablets that I have been popping over past weeks too were working their way to my head. I was in a highly irritable mood. It was Nehas birthday next morning and Sumathi wanted me to help her with decorations. I was exhausted and her constant nagging wasn’t helping either. Soon before we realised we were neck deep in an argument about abortion. She had already booked an appointment for abortion. I was trembling with rage. To make matters worse she taunted me about the emergency case goof ups. I just couldn’t take it anymore and pushed her. She landed on the bed. Enraged she picked up the hairbrush and smashed it on my head. That was the trigger I guess. Next I don’t remember what happened. When I came back to senses I had a golf club, dripping with blood, in my hand. My wife lay on the floor covered in blood. There was blood all over the room. When I turn around, I see Neha too was lying in a pool of blood. I couldn’t take in the sight and fainted.

    Liked by 1 person

Feel free to share your opinions or feedback!

