Meetup 011: Fear and Death

Well, hello there!

Hope your week is treating you well. So, here we are with the much awaited weekly update! And needless to even say, it was wonderful as ever! John Benedict, our loveliest, regular members hosted the session. He happens to one of the longest known friends that I have had at Write Club. Without flattering him with adjectives to show how proud I was, I’ll keep my positive prejudices down and say that the session was so much fun!

Here goes the very tastefully built, much applauded poster:

11111821_391805074357456_7213425540002740666_oFear and Death

Most of the literary world brings in the element of fear, so loud and clear, exposing various universally conceived fears. It may fall ranging from the largest, destructive fears to ones that are more time-specific and even old-time. The evident universal fear being death, repeats in literature more often than the others, in all forms, varying from canonical works to fantasies.

Exercise

Explore the worst fear of your imagination and write a short piece, imbibing the same as the theme. The objective is to expose the element of fear in the subject or character and show it in words.

The ideas, the stories and the works that resulted were simply extraordinary! The zeal of all the 25 (odd) writers was stupendous and it was lovely to see such a knowledgeable crowd! The output of the exercise left us craving for more time.

Find the material here: WC-Hyd-M011

So cheers to John for the wonderful session!

See you guys, next weekend, when we have more fun, more writing on another interesting theme! As always, please feel free to share your works and feedback on the theme and meetup, in the comments section.

About Write Club Team

Write Club Team comprises of highly motivated writers and creative inhabitants, who aspire to make Hyderabad an empowering abode for fabulous writers.

One thought on “Meetup 011: Fear and Death

  1. Write Club Meetup #11
    Title : “The Exam”
    The examiner, handed me the paper. The paper with its combination of Greek letters and words seemed alien to me. The integration and delta symbols were mocking me. I tried to recall whatever, I had learnt the previous day. It was an exercise in futility. I rested my trembling hand on the bench and looked at the clock. 2 more hours to go. I had to clear this, otherwise 4 years of preparation would come to naught. “Calm down. You know this stuff. Start with the easier questions”I opened my pen and put ink to paper. A couple of minutes later, I had finished my first answer. This gave me confidence and I spotted another easy question. Soon I was on a roll. I had completed many questions. A contented sigh escaped my lips. I would be OK. I would barely pass, but I would be OK.

    “Rajan !! Rajan !!”, I could hear my name being called. Dimly I opened my eyes and found the examiner standing over me. “You do have to hand over your paper !! We are done for today !!”, he said smiling as he collected mine.

    Like

Feel free to share your opinions or feedback!

